“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17).

Untitled.png

When the Holy Spirit speaks to me, he speaks in scripture. Now to all the scoffers who might ask which translation does God use, I say that the Spirit speaks a deeper meaning than mere words can possibly do justice. The Word of God is more than words written down on paper; the Word is very much alive. When the Lord speaks, there is calm, there is order, and there is precision. If only for a brief nanosecond, all the random thoughts, all the commotion of the mind, ceases when the Lord speaks. And a nanosecond is all it takes. 

When the Lord speaks, he speaks perfect truth, and that truth changes a person. I don’t mean changes figuratively, as in some intangible way, I mean God changes you at the cellular level and even deeper; he changes your heart. I wish we all heard the Lord speak more often, myself included, because I guarantee that the world would be a much different place; Christianity would certainly look much different. But God doesn’t force himself on us; we have to be listening; we have to be submitting. For years I beseeched the Lord about whether practicing homosexuality was a sin, and after almost two decades, one afternoon God answered, or perhaps, I was just finally ready to receive his answer. God answered: “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17). Admittedly, I was seeking a straight forward “yes” or “no” to my question, but God’s answer was spiritual, not carnal. His answer was quite profound! Instead of giving me the easy answer I sought, God’s response permeates into every thought and into every action, whether good or bad. 

I won’t speak for anyone else, but I’ve come to realize that for me homosexuality was a strategically placed distraction from God’s plan for my life. The Holy Spirit spoke to me again, this time from 1 Corinthians: “I would like you to be free from concern. An unmarried man is concerned about the Lord’s affairs—how he can please the Lord” (7:32). I felt God’s power physically enter my body and everything changed like with a reboot. From the beginning, I was created to be concerned about the business of the Lord—how I can please him, and God restored what the enemy came to steal when I was a small child. I delight in my eternal destiny.

My testimony is not one of condemnation, but one of personal sacrifice and submission to God, even something as basic as sexuality. Although this admission was hard, Satan’s leverage over me has now been ripped away. There is nothing else left hidden in my life; that’s freedom! God has shown me that I was always the man I am in Jesus Christ, and that I was never really the man I was in the flesh. Praise be to God!

Please sign up to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. God bless! 

