“The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful” (Matthew 13:22).

Untitled

Weeds are uncultivated plants, growing wild, often among cultivated crops or plants. Jesus used the image of weeds in parables to illustrate sin and worldliness. Weeds are troublesome and compete with cultivated crops for resources, weeds surround and entangle, and their presence signify desolation and neglect. “The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful” (Matthew 13:22).

O dear God, I fall to my knees and collapse before the Lord. Your seed has fallen on good soil, but the thorns surround. Rescue me from the enemy. Capture my thoughts and make them obedient. Strengthen me in my weakness. Renew my will. The powers of hell besiege me relentlessly day and night; attacking my flesh, my mind, even my spirit, if that’s possible, and I become worn down. But God is faithful. Hell will not overtake me today. God is my refuge. You defend me from my enemies. You charge to my rescue and restore me. Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, God forever and ever, I give you thanks; I give you praise.

When I struggle in my walk with Christ, I can’t help wondering, at least on some level, whether I’m resisting the grace God has freely given me, and if that doesn’t demonstrate a need for a savior, nothing will. I’ve found that it really does take praying unceasingly to capture my thoughts and make them obedient to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5). The struggle is real and ongoing, but what clarity, wisdom, and peace awaits the one who thirsts for righteousness. After writing Thorns, I had to say something about the weeds.

Please sign up to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. God bless!

